A propos du Pop-up

UN PREMIER TOUR DE JEU

Humans / Machines

Myths of creation, original stories, cosmogony, etc. These are complicated terms to say that, since the beginning of time, Man has sought to unravel the mystery of his origins; And in parallel, has attempted his chance at the game of creation. With walking sticks and then clocks, add a few hundred years and litres of coffee later, robots.

 

For its opening, the pop-up Pavillon is putting in all its effort and offering you the Humans / Machines exhibition combining Arts, Sciences, and Technologies on the paths of digital creation.

Along this adventurous journey, you will meet a robot singing prayers, another writing punishment lines on his little school bench, a swing perched under the stars, or the mural fresco created right before your eyes by a robot on wheels. 

Senseless Drawing Bot © So Kanno and Takahiro Yamaguchi
01 slide The prayer @ Diemut Strebe
01-slide-The-punishment-©-FilipeVilasBo
04_image_Margaret_de_©_Mathieu_Zurstras
02-image-Cat-or-Human-©-Shinseungback-Ki
03image_Pickled_Punks_©_Ugo_Dehaes
02-POP-UP-image-après-texte-intro-Myria

Welcome to the Valley of the strange

What differentiates a man from a robot? Will we always be different? The theory of the Uncanny Valley by the Japanese engineer Mori Masahiro speaks to us about this complex relationship between Man and Machine. It assumes that the more similar a robot is to a human being, the more monstrous its imperfections seem to us because the robot becomes a mirror of our excessiveness.


Today, artificial intelligence is capable of making us believe things as big as the Himalayas; for example, that Trump, Merkel, and Obama are singing Imagine by John Lennon together. And yet, this same artificial intelligence is not sheltered from errors. For example, to confuse a chat session with a human. Because after all, how does artificial intelligence become intelligent? As Shakespeare would say, that is the question.

 

Worldwide creations 

In terms of creation, Belgium doesn't have much to envy from the rest of the world. In the Humans / Machines exhibition, one can also discover world firsts from the fertile brains of home-grown artists. 

Notably, the “Pickled Punks” robots by the choreographer Ugo Dehaes, ready to be born in their little jar of formaldehyde. Or else, "Margaret” by Mathieu Zurstrassen, a robotic plant who designs her own artificial companion - César 18 - to fool her own loneliness. 

logo.png

A propos du Pop-up

UN PREMIER TOUR DE JEU

Humans / Machines

Mythes de la création, récits originels, cosmogonie … Des termes un peu compliqués pour dire que, de tout temps, l’Humain a cherché à percer le mystère de ses origines… Et en parallèle, il a tenté sa chance au jeu de la création. Avec des bâtons de marche puis des horloges et, quelques centaines d’années et de litres de café plus tard, des robots.

Pour son ouverture, le Pavillon pop-up met les petits plats dans les grands et vous propose Humans / Machines, une exposition entre Arts, Sciences et Technologies sur les chemins de la création numérique.
Dans ce parcours d’aventure, on rencontre un robot chantant des prières, un autre écrivant sur son petit banc d’école des lignes de punition, une balançoire perchée sous les étoiles ou encore la fresque murale créée sous vos yeux par un robot sur roulettes. 

 

01_slide_Senseless_drawing_bot_©_So_Kan
01 slide The prayer @ Diemut Strebe
01-slide-The-punishment-©-FilipeVilasBo
04_image_Margaret_de_©_Mathieu_Zurstras
02-image-Cat-or-Human-©-Shinseungback-Ki
03image_Pickled_Punks_©_Ugo_Dehaes
02-POP-UP-image-après-texte-intro-Myria

Bienvenue dans la Vallée de l’étrange

Qu’est-ce qui différencie un homme d’un robot ? Serons-nous toujours différents ? La théorie de la Vallée de l’étrange, de l’ingénieur japonais Mori Masahiro, nous parle de ce rapport complexe Human-Machine. Elle postule que plus un robot est similaire à un être humain, plus ses imperfections nous paraissent monstrueuses car le robot devient un miroir de notre démesure.

Aujourd’hui, l’intelligence artificielle est capable de nous faire croire des choses grosses comme l’Himalaya; comme par exemple que Trump, Merkel et Obama chantent ensemble Imagine de John Lennon. Et pourtant, cette même intelligence artificielle n’est pas à l’abri d’une erreur. Comme de confondre un chat et un humain. Car après tout, comment l’artificiel devient-il intelligent ? Comme dirait Shakespeare, that’s the question.
 

Des créations mondiales 

En matière de création, la Belgique n’a pas grand chose à envier au reste du monde. Dans l’exposition Humans / Machines, on peut également découvrir des premières mondiales issues des cerveaux fertiles d’artistes bien de chez nous. 
Notamment, les robots “Pickled Punks” du chorégraphe
Ugo Dehaes, prêts à naître dans leur petit pot de formol. Ou encore “Margaret” de Mathieu Zurstrassen, une plante robotique qui conçoit elle-même son compagnon artificiel - César 18 - afin de tromper sa propre solitude. 
 

logo.png